Early voting dates, location changes announced

Early voting for the 2024 primary elections kicks off in just days, and some voters will be casting ballots in new locations, announce Berkeley County officials.

The early voting period for the 2024 South Carolina Primary Elections is Tuesday, May 28 to Friday, June 7.

Early voting centers are open 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. during this time (closed on weekends and state holidays).

Registered Berkeley County voters may vote early at one of the following locations:

• Berkeley County Voter Registration & Elections Office: 1003 N. Highway 52, Moncks Corner, SC 29461

• Daniel Island Library: 2301 Daniel Island Drive, Daniel Island, SC 29492

• Hanahan Library: 1216 Old Murray Court, Hanahan, SC 29410

You must have your photo ID to vote (or a voter registration card with photo). Voters may view their sample ballot through the South Carolina Election Commission website.


Absentee-by-mail voting is available for qualified voters. Request an absentee application in one of the following ways:

• Phone: 843-719-4058

• Mail: P.O. Box 6122, Moncks Corner, SC 29461

• In person: Voter Registration & Elections Office, 1003 N. Highway 52, Moncks Corner, SC 29461

You must complete, sign, and return your application to the Berkeley County Voter Registration & Elections Office in person or by mail by Friday, May 31, at 5 p.m.

You will receive your absentee ballot in the mail. Return your completed ballot to the Berkeley County Voter Registration & Elections Office by mail or in person no later than 7 p.m. on Election Day, June 11. Photo ID is required to return your ballot in person. For more information, see the details online.



The following Election Day polling locations are being permanently changed. All voters affected by these permanent precinct changes will receive new voter registration cards in the mail.

• Huger Precinct, previously located at Huger Fire Department, will now be at New Hope United Methodist Church (152 Heywardridge Lane, Huger, SC  29450).

• Foster Creek 3 Precinct, previously located at Hanahan Fire Station #3, will now be at Bowens Corner Elementary School (1173 Williams Lane, Hanahan, SC 29410)

The following Election Day polling locations are being temporarily changed for the 2024 June State Primaries due to construction and/or demolition. Registered voters affected by these changes will be notified via mail:

• Westview 2 and Westview 3 voters that normally vote at Westview Middle School will vote at Westview Primary School (98 Westview Boulevard, Goose Creek, SC 29445). If there is a runoff on June 25, they will also vote at the Westview Primary School at that time. These voters will return to Westview Middle School for the Nov. 5, 2024 Presidential Election.

• Hanahan 4 voters that normally vote at Hanahan Middle School will vote at Hanahan High School (6016 Murray Drive, Hanahan, SC 29410). This temporary change will be in effect for the remainder of 2024.

The 2024 Statewide Primaries are on Tuesday, June 11, for both the Democratic Party and the Republican Party. For all election-related information, visit scvotes.gov or the County Voter Registration and Elections Department website. You may also call 843-719-4056 or email webvre@berkeleycountysc.gov.

Daniel Island Publishing

225 Seven Farms Drive
Unit 108
Daniel Island, SC 29492 

Office Number: 843-856-1999
Fax Number: 843-856-8555


Breaking News Alerts

To sign up for breaking news email alerts, Click on the email address below and put "email alerts" in the subject line: sdetar@thedanielislandnews.com

Comment Here